Research Funding Programs

The promotion and encouragement of research and scholarship are among SMS’ primary purposes. This includes the generation, retention, and dissemination of new knowledge in the field of strategic management. In support of these goals, the Society operates Strategy Research Foundation (SRF) programs to award research grants to individuals or groups identified through a competitive application and review process.

2017 SMS Membership

We invite you to renew or apply online for your 2017 SMS membership now! The annual fee for SMS membership with e-access to journals is now $160 for Regular and $80 for Student and Emeritus members. Current members, renew before the end of the year, and receive an additional dues reduction ($10 Regular membership / $5 Student membership).


The core activity of the SRF is to support research through the awarding of grants. These grants will support research to be conducted by those individuals or groups who respond to requests for proposals generated by the SRF and who succeed in a competitive application and review process.

Grant Recipients

Click here to view a list of grant recipients for 2015.  Recipients for other years can be found here.

SRF News


The SRF Programs are currently directed by Cathy Maritan. Chairs of the SRF Leadership are appointed to staggered three-year renewable terms. The primary responsibility of the SRF Co-Chairs is to develop and review themes and focus areas for the SRF.  Click here to learn more about the leadership of the SRF.

Research Endowment

The SRF research-funding programs are motivated by a strong belief that the field of strategic management will benefit from an entity devoted to supporting research that advances its concepts, theory, and practice. To ensure the ongoing availability of funds for the SRF programs and grants, the SMS has set aside the major part of its reserves in a Research Endowment fund. Click here for more information about this endowment.

Call for Nominations

Download the PDF Call for Nominations for the Co-Chair of the SRF